The 24 Hour Plays: The Nationals

  • 24 Hour Plays

    The 24 Hour Plays: Nationals at the School of Drama

    The 24 Hour Company, which produces The 24 Hour Plays on Broadway, The 24 Hour Musicals, and The 24 Hour Plays around the world, has joined with longtime partner the School of Drama to bring The 24 Hour Plays: Nationals to New York City this summer. The Nationals brings together some of theater’s most promising young talent—six writers, six directors, six producers, and 24 actors—for two days of intensive workshops and an opportunity to create original 24 Hour Plays here in Manhattan

    "The Nationals presents a great opportunity for young artists to meet their peers and begin building the relationships that will serve them throughout their careers," says producer Tina Fallon, who founded The 24 Hour Plays in 1995. "We are seeking the very best of the next generation of theater artists and will arm them with what they need to find their way in this business—which is to say: each other."

    "The School of Drama and The 24 Hour Company share an abiding belief in the power of intelligent collaboration to develop transformative new voices, whether they be playwrights, actors, directors, or producers,” says Pippin Parker, director of the School of Drama. “That’s why it’s no accident that so many School of Drama alumni are also alumni of The 24 Hour Plays—and why we’re thrilled to be host and partner this summer for The Nationals."

    Alumni of The 24 Hour Plays: Nationals include playwrights Bekah Brunstetter (Be a Good Little Widow, Oohrah!; TV and film: Switched at Birth, The Secret), Laura Jacqmin (playwright: January Joiner; TV: Grace and Frankie), and Eric DuFault (The Year of the Rooster, Lark PoNY fellow); director James Dacre (Olivier Award for world premiere of Katori Hall’s The Mountaintop); actors Brandon Scott (Gray’s Anatomy) and Zoe Perry (The Other Place on Broadway); and many more!

    Previous versions of this program have featured discussions with Kevin Spacey, Claire Danes, Rachel Dratch, Aasif Mandvi, Adam Bock, Warren Leight, Thomas Kail, Lucy Thurber, Jason Zinoman, Lou Moreno, and many other stage and screen professionals.

    Application deadline: April 15 (email info@24hourplays.com to request an application)